By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies to ensure the smooth running of your visit and to achieve audience statistics. Learn more and manage cookies
 

RAR ESO - FROM GENESIS TO PRODUCTION

We could have selected from a Chinese or European catalogue.

We could have designed and had it produced in Asia.

We could have manufactured in France, using the ideas of leading German manufacturers.

We could have made the front hub bodies in 3 parts.

We could have preferred the simple, economical 3 pawls mechanism to make lighter.

We chose the way of the difference.

Moyeux RAR ESO

"CULTIVATE THE DIFFERENCE"

2012: first drafts. We wanted an ultra high quality alternative. Geometry, mass, ease of adjustment, fluidity, and durability were to set the standard.

Our bet is to offer you the best: our RAR ESO hubs are 100% designed and manufactured in France and are merely performance and reliability oriented. We cultivate the difference facing a market where copies, inbreeding in designs and productions are too common.

From the performance-resistance-cost triptych, only two parameters can be chosen. Our choice: performance-resistance. The cursor has been placed very high.

RAR ESO moyeu arriere coupe



FINITE ELEMENT ANALYSIS

We remove every µm3 of superfluous material by structural calculations in numerical analysis; the finite element method.

Stress zones involve reinforcements.

Low-stress areas are machined in astonishing thicknesses.

The ultra-light final part offers extraordinary strength.

Moyeu RAR ESO contraintes FEM

The stresses induced by disc braking are calculated to size the part accordingly.

The most extreme cases caused by one or more broken spokes are anticipated, modeled to adjust the body sizing to the unaffected areas overload. The damaged bottom spoke case is simulated on the left side picture here. The tensile stress of the top spoke pulls the flange with more force.

 

RAR ESO simulation disque et rayon casse



The fine meshing of the sensitive areas allows for a higher accuracy in the calculations. 

RAR ESO maillage fin FEM


Continuity of form is the ideal mechanical situation for a revolution part. Thickening the wall sections to justify external millings after turning is visually flattering: the parts look more aggressive. This is the choice of some colleagues. Others assemble the front hubs in 3 parts for ease of production, cost and drilling flexibility. These two solutions remain nevertheless mechanically imperfect. Only the continuous shapes ensure the maximum combination of reliability and weight. We focus ESOs on ultimate efficiency: wall thicknesses are precisely dimensioned, without any fuss. The 7075T6 aluminium alloy was naturally selected for its maximum strength properties.

RAR ESO moyeu avant



MECHANICS

A lightweight design traditionally works with 2, 3 or 4 teeth that transfer torque to a toothed ring This solution that comes with moderate durability is favored by many colleagues for its economic side.

Our choice is the one of durability with ratchets: the torque stress is spread over a contact surface about 20 times greater than the pawl solution. This reliability optimisation through the mechanical surface is enhanced by the material choice: steel. The parts that usually wear then have virtually infinite resistance. They require precision machining in an expensive material that is difficult to machine.

RAR ESO mecanique interne

A ratchet is integrated directly into the freewheel body. The second is mobile and slides into the hub shell. They contact each other through a spring which presses against the hub shell: it ensures a quiet freewheeling operation thanks to a precisely dimensioned return force.

RAR ESO mecanique interne



GEOMETRY

They benefit from an ultra-favorable sizing, more than a decade of research and testing on wheel performance.

The inter-flange spacing and the diameter of the spokes anchor point are their assets. The distance between the flanges favors the support of the rim through the spokes. The diameter of the spoke hooking circle also optimizes the angle the spokes take towards the rim. This gives the spokes a lever arm to transmit the torque from the hub to the rim.

We placed the cursor in favor of maximizing spacing and diameters, whenever necessary, at the expense of weight and material/machining cost. The finite element analysis and high precision of the machine tools then allows us to go for unprecedented thin walls.

There are three cases in our ESO range.

The front wheel for rim braking is symmetrical, the hub is also symmetrical: the force with which the spokes pull is the same left/right. The inter-flange spacing can therefore take advantage of the whole hub width. Beyond the intrinsic value of 83mm, the prowess is that of the monobloc body that is synonymous of maximum strength against the 3-piece design (flange-tube-flange) while the ultra low wall thicknesses make possible a complete, reliable hub at 62g. The hub shell is just over a third of this weight !



The rear hub for rim braking is asymmetrical: the cassette body pushes the freewheel flange towards the inside of the wheel. The flange/centre distances of the wheel are different left and right. The drive side spokes bracing angle is then crucial for the balance of the tensions and lateral stiffness. Optimizing its distance from hub center has a double influence on reliability and performance. Our solution is to anchor the spokes vertically to maximize the spacing which is 18mm-ESO rim brake. The average anchorage diameter of 54mm generates an excellent spoke lever arm on the hub.

RAR ESO moyeu arriere corps



This atypical shape generates peculiarities in the spokes tensions. The spoke located high on the flange has a greater influence than the spoke located underneath: its lever arm is stronger. First phenomenon: the tension of the upper spoke is lower than the tension of the lower spoke. About 10%. A rear wheel on an ESO hub has 3 different static tensions: the one on the opposite side of the freewheel, and two different ones on the cassette side. The second phenomenon is due to the power transmission dynamics: the "pusher" spoke facing forward loses tension when the "tractor" spoke facing backwards sees its tension increasing. We thus positioned the top spoke, under-tensioned statically towards the rear, and the lower spoke, over-tensionned statically, towards the front. While pedaling, the torque and the mechanical balance of the tensions is close to perfection.

Standard designs with "old-type" flanges work in the opposite way: the mechanical tensions of the spokes are balanced in static but unbalanced in dynamic.

RAR ESO schema tensions



The disc range, is special: the front case corresponds to the rear one for rim braking: one side transfers torque, the other does not. The shape therefore has similarities, stemming from the one-sided asymmetry. The disc mounting spacing is quite moderate, so the disc-side flange position is not as critical as on the rear freewheel side. We then set the priority on weight savings with horizontal rather than vertical anchorage points.

RAR ESO disque poli miroir



The special shape of the rear disk hub body with its inverted cone is the result of sizing optimization. A minimal wall thickness is required to handle the stress induced by the braking torque transfer and the spoke tension of the drive side flange. 

RAR ESO disque poli miroir



PRELOAD

Our requirement was a simple a stable adjustment over time. The ideal solution proved to be the "nut cap" screwed onto the shaft, which was placed against the bearing with an O ring in between. This system has a double advantage. The adjustment is simple: screwing the cap sets the preload and the play. The bearings are protected when the cap is screwed too tightly: the O-ring properties dampens the over-tightening.

The finely adjusted preload is achieved by starting from a position with play, with the wheel mounted and tightened on the bike, and then gradually tightening the nut until the play disappears. The ESOs are already adjusted when leaving the workshop, the force of the quick-release is already taken into account.

RAR ESO arriere axe



BEARINGS

We assemble hubs on SKF productions, these are high performance radial cartridge bearings, CN standard clearance. Lubrication and seals offer a low friction coefficient and a very high endurance.
On special wheels we can also use CyclingCeramic hybrid ceramic bearings. 



WEIGHT

Designed for ultimate performance, the ESO range is obviously ultra light. Even if it wasn't the top priority, improving performance obviously means saving weight.

ESO road rim braking FRONT 20t: 62g

ESO road rim braking REAR 24t: 163g

ESO road disc braking FRONT 24t: 84g

ESO road disc braking REAR 24t: 178g (+35g XDR full steel freewheel body)



SPECIFICATIONS ESO hub range

Rim brake Disc brake 
Front Rear Front Rear
Left to center distance (mm) 41,5 34,5 22,5 32,0
Right to center distance (mm) 41,5 18,0 34,0 20,8
Left side diameter (mm)  27,5 27,5 44,0 45,0
Right side diameter (mm) 27,5 53,5 25,5 53,5
Weight (g) 62 162 84 178

Whenever the flanges have one pushing and one pulling spoke, the dimensions are measured in the middle of both.



MANUEL MOYEUX ESO
Freinage jante et disque route

RAR ESO manuel

En continuant votre navigation sur ce site, vous acceptez l'utilisation des cookies afin d'assurer le bon déroulement de votre visite et de réaliser des statistiques d'audience. En savoir plus et gérer les cookies
 

RAR ESO - DE LA GENESE A LA PRODUCTION

Nous aurions pu piocher dans un catalogue chinois, ou européen.

Nous aurions pu dessiner et faire fabriquer en Asie.

Nous aurions pu fabriquer en France en reprenant les idées de fabricants de référence allemands.

Nous aurions pu fabriquer les corps de nos moyeux avant en 3 pièces.

Nous aurions pu privilégier la mécanique 3 cliquets, simple, économique pour faire du léger.

Nous avons choisi la voie de la différence.

RAR ESO moyeu arriere coupe



"CULTIVONS LA DIFFERENCE"

2012 : premières ébauches. Nous souhaitions une alternative ultra qualitative: géométrie, masse, facilité de réglage, fluidité, durée de vie devaient jeter un pavé dans la mare.

Notre pari est celui de vous proposer le meilleur: nos moyeux RAR ESO sont 100% conçus et fabriqués en France dans une optique de performance et fiabilité absolue. Nous cultivons la différence face à un marché où les copies, la consanguinité dans les dessins et les productions sont légion.

Du triptyque performance-résistance-coût, seuls deux paramètres peuvent être choisis. Notre choix: performance-résistance. Le curseur a été placé très haut.



METHODE DES ELEMENTS FINIS

Nous chassons chaque µm3 de matière superflue par les calculs de structure en analyse numérique; la méthode des éléments finis.

Les zones de contraintes impliquent des renforts.

Les zones peu sollicitées sont usinées dans des épaisseurs étonnantes.

La pièce finale ultra légère offre une résistance hors du commun.

Moyeu RAR ESO contraintes FEM

Les contraintes induites par le freinage disque sont calculées pour dimensionner la pièce en conséquence. 

Les cas les plus extrêmes causés par un ou plusieurs rayons arrachés sont anticipés, modélisés pour ajuster le dimensionnement du corps à la surcharge des zones non touchées. Le cas du rayon arraché en bas du flasque est simulé ici. L'effort de traction du rayon haut tire davantage sur l'ancrage. 

RAR ESO simulation disque et rayon casse



Le maillage fin des zones sensibles permet d'isoler une partie de la révolution de la pièce pour accroître la précision des calculs.  RAR ESO maillage fin FEM


La continuité des formes est situation mécanique idéale pour une pièce de révolution. Epaissir les sections de parois pour justifier des fraisages externes post-tournage flatte visuellement: les pièces paraissent plus agressives. C'est le choix de certains confrères. D'autres assemblent les moyeux avant en 3 pièces pour la facilité de production, de coût et la flexibilité des perçages. Ces deux solutions restent néanmoins anti-mécanique. Seules les formes continues assurent la combinaison fiabilité-poids maximale. Nous axons ESOs sur l'efficacité ultime: les épaisseurs de parois sont justement dimensionnées, sans poudre aux yeux. 

RAR ESO moyeu avant



MECANIQUE

Une conception légère fonctionne traditionnellement avec 2, 3 ou 4 dents qui transfèrent le couple sur une couronne dentée. Cette solution peu endurante est privilégiée par de multiples confrères pour son côté économique.

Notre choix est celui de la durabilité avec des couronnes crantées en opposition: la contrainte d'effort se diffuse sur une surface de contact de l'ordre de 20 fois supérieure. Cette optimisation de la fiabilité par la surface mécanique est multipliée par le choix du matériau: l'acier. Les pièces "habituellement" d'usure ont alors une résistance virtuellement infinie. Elles nécessitent des usinages de précision dans un matériau coûteux, difficile à usiner.

RAR ESO mecanique interne

Une couronne fixe est directement intégrée au corps de roue libre. La seconde, mobile, glisse dans le corps du moyeu. Elles restent en contact via un ressort appuyé contre le corps de moyeu: il assure la roue libre silencieuse par une force retour justement dimensionnée.

RAR ESO mecanique interne



GEOMETRIE

Ils bénéficient d'un dimensionnement ultra favorable, de plus d'une décennie de recherches et essais sur la performance des roues.

L'espacement inter-flasques et le diamètre du point d'accroche-rayons sont leurs points forts. La distance entre les flasques favorise le support de la jante via le rayonnage. Le diamètre du point d'accroche des rayons optimise aussi l'angle que prennent les rayons vers la jante, dans des proportions plus réduite que l'inter-distance. Il donnera néanmoins naissance à un bras de levier pour transmettre le couple du moyeu vers la jante.

Nous plaçons le curseur en faveur des espacements et diamètres maximums, dès que nécessaires, au détriment de la masse et du coût matière/usinage. La grande précision des machines-outils nous permettent ensuite d'aller chercher des finesses de parois inédites.

Trois cas se présentent sur notre gamme ESO.

La roue avant pour freinage sur jante est symétrique, le moyeu l'est aussi: la force avec laquelle tirent les rayons est identique gauche/droite. L'espacement inter-flasques peut donc tirer profit de la totalité de l'entraxe moyeu. Au delà de la valeur intrinsèque de 83mm, la prouesse est celle du corps monobloc, synonyme de robustesse maximale face à la conception 3 pièces (flasque-tube-flasque), dans des épaisseurs d'aluminium rendant possible un moyeu complet, fiable, à 62g. A peine plus du tiers de cette masse étant imputable au corps !



Le moyeu arrière pour freinage jante est asymétrique: l'encombrement cassette pousse le flasque roue libre vers l'intérieur de la roue. Les distances flasques/centre de la roue sont différentes: les points d'accroche des rayons roue libre deviennent cruciaux pour l'équilibre des tensions et la rigidité latérale. Optimiser sa largeur influe doublement sur la fiabilité et la performance. Notre solution est d'ancrer les rayons verticalement pour maximiser l'espacement: 18mm séparent alors le flasque du centre du moyeu. Le diamètre moyen d'ancrage de 54mm génère un excellent bras de levier du rayon sur le moyeu.

RAR ESO moyeu arriere corps



Cette forme atypique donne naissance à des particularités sur les tensions des rayons. Le rayon situé haut sur le flasque a une influence supérieure au rayon situé dessous: son bras de levier est plus fort. Premier phénomène: la tension du rayon haut est inférieure à celui du rayon bas. De l'ordre de 10%. Une roue arrière sur moyeu ESO subit donc 3 tensions différentes en statique: celle du côté opposé roue libre, et deux différentes côté cassette. Le second phénomène est issu de la dynamique de transmission d'effort: le rayon "pousseur" orienté vers l'avant perd en tension quand le rayon "tracteur" orienté vers l'arrière voit sa tension augmenter. Nous positionnons alors le rayon haut, sous-tendu en statique vers l'arrière, et le rayon bas, sur-tendu en statique, vers l'avant. Avec le pédalage, l'équilibre mécanique des tensions est proche de la perfection.
Les conceptions standard à flasque "rond" ont un fonctionnement inverse: les tensions mécaniques des rayons sont équilibrées en statique mais déséquilibrées en dynamique.

RAR ESO schema tensions



La gamme disque, disponible au printemps 2019, est particulière: le cas de l'avant correspond à l'arrière pour freinage jante: un côté transfère du couple, l'autre non. La forme présente donc des similitudes, issues de l'encombrement unilatéral. Cette espacement de fixation disque reste modéré, le positionnement du flasque côté disque est moins critique que le côté roue libre arrière. Nous avons priorisé le gain de masse avec des points d'ancrage horizontaux plutôt que verticaux.

RAR ESO disque avant 3D



La forme spéciale du corps de moyeu arrière disque avec son cône inversé est issue de l'optimisation du dimensionnement selon la contrainte induite par le transfert du couple de freinage et la section nécessaire sous les zones de contrainte des "oreilles" d'accroche-rayon côté roue libre. 

RAR ESO disque arriere 3D



REGLAGE

L'impératif était le réglage simple et stable dans le temps. La solution idéale s'est avérée être le "capuchon-écrou" vissé sur l'axe, posé contre le roulement via un joint. Ce système présente un double avantage. Le réglage est simple: serrer le capuchon cale le jeu. Les roulements sont protégés en cas de serrage trop puissant: le joint amortissant le surplus de serrage.

La précontrainte finement réglée s'obtient en partant d'une position avec jeu, roue montée-serrée sur le vélo, puis en serrant progressivement l'écrou jusqu'à ce que le jeu disparaisse. Les ESOs sont déjà réglés en sortie d'atelier, la force de l'attache rapide est déjà prise en compte.  

RAR ESO arriere axe



ROULEMENTS

Nous assemblons sur les productions SKF, il s'agit de roulements annulaires acier radiaux de haute prestation, jeu normal CN. Graissage et joints favorisent un coefficient de frottement faible, et une endurance très élevée.
Sur des roues particulières nous pouvons utiliser aussi des roulements Enduro. Nous piochons alors dans leurs séries les plus haut de gamme XD15: roulements annulaires céramiques hybrides, portées acier spécifique traité au nitrogène, contact angulaire pour résister à la fois aux charges radiales et axiales.



MASSE

Conçue pour une performance ultime, la gamme ESO est nécessairement ultra light. Même s'il ne s'agissait pas de l'absolue priorité, l'amélioration de la performance passe évidemment par le gain de masse.

ESO route avant 20t: 62g

ESO route arrière 24t: 163g

ESO disque route avant 24t: 85g

ESO disque route arrière 24t: 176g